Something good is in the air!

As the morning fog obscures the  trees in the background from outside my lounge window,I try to remember how they will look when their leakage appears once again in their renaissance.Its good when we can look forward to more pleasant climes,as the winter has that affect of depressing and compressing ,causing an internal lethargy that is often challeng no to break free from.This February day ,because of the shortness of this month,seems to signify that if we hold on,spring will be here.

Many have already noticed it,that is,those with a more sensitive ear to colours and pastoral scenes,I just have a feeling in the small of my stomach,You know ,that little positive part of our anatomy that says that things outside are changed no faith r the better,and that we have almost said goodbye to another winter.When I was a young boy,it would always be my gran’s mantra that she’s isn’t know if she would survive “any ther Winter”.It stuck in my mind,and it affected me,the way things are apt to do when we are young and impressionable.Although I never really articulated my anxiety about Grans words,I remember certain pieces of music have always affected me ,and through the phrases,melodies,and,m harmonies of that music,I sort of found a safe place by which I could express my feelings.

When I look outside,I know in my mind that the trees in the background are there really,but because I can’t see them clearly ,I listen to the birds that are perched in them.So,my reference point in the construction of my safe place is always sounds ,that is those manufactured by humans,or the sounds that exist in nature and in everyday life.These sounds -the sounds of voices,the words that are said by these voic-occupy a large percentage of what makes up me.

So yes,there is a fog outside my window this morning,but there isn’t a muting of sound ,it’s clear and distinct.Of course,for sounds to have any sense to us,we need a functioning mind.One such example of a “high functioning mind” was that if Ludwig van Beethoven,who,in later life ,suffered from acute deafness.This,however,didn’t affect the sounds in his mind,and he was able to craft together some of them greatest music ever composed.This,however,was the work of a genius a one in a billion .That said,the rest of us lesser mortals can begin to understand the extent to which our concept and u derstanding of the mind can really help us make sense of beauty in music and all the ramifications there of.

As a once again glance outside my window,the fog that was present before has lifted,and indeed the trees in the background stand resplendent in their positions exactly as they have been for the last 30 odd years since I have lived in this house,and I dare say will remain such.It got me thinking that some obstacles ,some problems,some difficulties are often like that fog,they appear to completely jam up our lives.The dynamic time that the morning fog persisted in my sight line appeared to last an eternity.However,in the round,in context as such,that fog was temporary rather like some of the stuff that we have to deal with in life.At the time we are going through it,it appears as if it would never change,never alter,never a light.However,as I observed that the fog had lighted,I saw those very birds that had been singing as the time that I have been writing my daily blog.Sometimes,I like to think that there are so many more positives in life ,so many more good people,but just like those birds that are really always there,you could take them for granted and take their beautiful songs for granted.

Please never take yourself and your unique song for granted,because that will be the starting point and from then you can establish that sense of appreciating other people and their worth because we all have worth and merit.We all have a place on terra firma.

Thank you for your interest in my daily muse.

Kernowsmith.

Leave a Reply

