Sound Perspective.

It’s an overcast day outside,and I can,with much effort,hear the song of a solitary bird ,as a plane flies high above the skies overhead.Sound perspectives to me are just as important as image ones as they act as clues to where I am and to where I want to go.

It’s like when your walking by a river or a stream and you have that restful feeling of the water over the stones on its bed,it’s such a restful sound,it tempers agitation I feel.Now that the plane has moved on,probably at around 400 miles per hour cruising speed,taking folk to their needed or desired destination,I’m left with the sound perspectives of around 5 birds acting as a quintet in my garden as they perform their choral fantasy for anyone who might be up this morning.

Spying out natural sounds has,of late,become a pursuit of mine,and I like to take note of them,filing them away in my little brain ,feeding off the restfulness of them at times of turmoil or of anxiety.This mechanism isn’t clinical,more my own “special place” as it were.To many,it might be a favourite image,a smell from long ago that comforts them,but ,whatever it is,we all need ,in my opinion that is,”our safe place”

As the birds are enjoying their interval from their fantasy and I galvanise myself to get out and run this morning,I wonder what sounds will await me,will they excite me,arrest me,interest me,warn me,I know not .As I write these words,another plane flies over,it’s a busy day in the high skies.So clear are some sounds ,so well defined in the natural acoustic,that they attach themselves to your consciousness,or at least mine that is.

These sound perspectives fascinate me ,and the countryside affords us folk so many opportunities to hear them in their entirety as the vibrations affect them .In the distance,at the top of Church road in the town where I live,I can hear the bells,as the first service on this day begins at 8.Maybe the wind is in the right direction,but normally the bells have that historical sound,don’t they.When I was a very young boy,practicing the organ,I found the church bells extremely annoying,as I thought they lacked melodic and harmonic clarity.Now,I tend to like the stability that they bring to a community and the fact that to those who know their meaning ,they are a lifeline.

In Cornish fishing villages,they are rung when there was thought to have been a disaster at sea and the women would congregate at the harbour side waiting for news.My uncle would talk to me about it as a child,and he had such a way of expressing himself that I lapped up the words just like I tend too with the sound of the waters.Now,well over 45 years later,my uncle is long gone,but I can still hear his voice,it’s a soothing sound,yes it’s a strong Cornish accent,but with softones thatdraw you to another beating heart,like the voice of Richard Burton.

My muse this morning has been about sound perspective ,as when we really think about things,we owe to to ourselves to put things in their proper perspective.To me,sound helps me,the natural ones are often the best,and now,on this Sunday morning,I really must get myself out of bed and get the exercise that ,I’m told and tend to feel,will release those endorphins into my head so that I can fully appreciate those wonderful sounds of nature,but putting in perspective,all those folks on those planes,let’s hope that they will have a wonderful visit wherever they may be,and those called to their church,let’s hope that they find comfort too,because,to me,my perspective is that people should live their lives as best they can and we shouldn’t be noisy in trying to I flounce them into doing anything that they can’t do or won’t do.

Thank you for your attention,and if you like the sound of what I’ve written ,then check out my daily blog ,and thank you once again.

Leave a Reply

