As I woke up this morning from my return from being away in Exmoor,I noticed that change,that drone of sound that is the environment in a small town,as opposed to the absolute silence of Exmoor,where just one car was a major event that vibrated inside my ears for what seemed an age.

Here,at home,as I write this,my concentration is on differentiation of sounds rather than silence interspersed with a single bird,or a the bar of a sheep.As the aircraft over head to their stuff,I wonder really if I heard one in the entire week in Exmoor.Comparisons are normal and natural,but coming home to Dorset is still part of England’s green and pleasant land and for that I’m extremely grateful.

In trying to reflect what I’m hearing now,this is the first time for over a week,that I’ve heard the sounds of neighbouring voices .Its 7::0,not really early,but it intrigues me why I’m getting irritated because they are not shouting,just raised a little.We hear so much about noise pollution nowadays,and I guess that it could be a real problem for many people who might live in confined areas,or near those who walk on the high decibel side of life,preferring the plus 70 to 100 decibel level to exist in,That,and is ,harmful to our hearing,but many get used to it ,not realising the danger of it until it’s too late for their hearing.

As the voices have receded into folk history,I write my words of personal observation,my muse as it were .These words are my thoughts of a snapshot of my day,normally,the start of it,but they are a muse .Yes,they tend to me about what I’ve observed ,and normally that is centred around hearing things.So,I try my best to look after this sense,but ,in the past,I’ve been guilty as a young man of smoking up the high decibels.Why ,just hearing a major Orchestra can,and is,loud.Hearing a rock band ca,and was,even louder,so I can’t preach self control when it comes to consuming loud music.However,I know the value of this quite sound time,that is,this time with the window open,and the early morning rehearsal of the birds in the garden,they do this with love in their heart and a joy to behold.

They don’t seem to need a round of applause,they do it as a show that they exist and I’m a lucky man that I can hear them.Yes,the Berlin Phill were louder,Deep Purple even more so,with my friendly Robin,Sparrow,and Caffinch make a wonderful trio.

Leave a Reply

